Saraki, others sued over move to make Akpabio Senate Minority Leader

Written by on July 22, 2015

Some members of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) have asked a Federal High Court in Abuja to restrain the Senate from departing from its standing rules in the appointment of the Minority Leader for the Eighth National Assembly.

SARAKIThe suit, aimed at frustrating the possible emergence of former Akwa Ibom State Governor, Senator Godswill Akpabio, as the Senate’s Minority Leader, was filed by two members of the PDP from Rivers and Imo states.

The plaintiffs in the suit are Alaye Don Pedro (Ward 8 Akuku-Toru Local Government Area, Rivers State) and Okechukwu Ibeh of Umukegwu/Umuopia in Ide Ato Local Government Area, Imo State.

The suit has the Senate President, Bukola Saraki (as the First respondent, followed by Akpabio (as second respondents) and 16 others, who are members of the Southsouth Senate Caucus.

They are Nelson Effiong, Bassey Albert, Emmanuel Paulker, Ogola Foster, Ben Murray Bruce, John Owan Enoh, Gershom Bassey, Rose Oko, James Manager, Peter Nwaoboshi, Ighoyota Amori, Clifford Ordia, Mathew Urhoghide, George Thomson Sekibo, Olaka Nwogu and Osinachukwu Ideozu.

It is the plaintiffs’ contention that the alleged plot by some individuals to make Akpabio (a first term senator) the Minority leader, was a violation of Order 3(2) of the Senate Standing Order 2015 (as amended).

Yesterday, the plaintiffs’ lawyer, Bankole Akomolafe, argued his clients’ motion ex-parte in which they sought orders restraining the defendants from taking steps that could negate the Senate’s ranking tradition.

Justice Kolawole, after listening to Akomolafe, adjourned to today for ruling.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Current track