Lawan out, Shekarau, Akpabio in, as INEC publishes final list of NASS candidates

Written by on September 21, 2022

Senate President Ahmad Lawan may have finally lost out in his bid to return to the red chamber following the omission of his name from the final list of candidates for next year’s Presidential and National Assembly Elections.

This was as the Independent National Electoral Commission INEC published the names of All Progressives Congress APC Presidential Aspirant, Godswill Akpabio as the party’s candidate for Akwa Ibom Northwest Senatorial District, and Ibrahim Shekarau as candidate of the New Nigeria Peoples Party NNPP for Kano Central Senatorial District, despite having defected from the NNPP about a month ago.

Vanguard reports that presidential candidates representing the nation’s 18 registered political parties would be slugging it out in next year’s general election.

Uploaded by: Abdulmalik Jimoh 

Current track