Zamfara Government Announces Total ‘Lockdown’ In Three Local Government Areas

Written by on October 14, 2022

Following the resurgence of bandit attacks on communities, the Zamfara Government has announced a total lockdown in Anka, Bukkuyum and Gummi Local Government Areas.

The lockdown is contained in a statement issued by the Commissioner for Information, Alhaji Ibrahim Dosara today in Gusau.

Alhaji Ibrahim stated that the government announced lockdown in nine major towns to stop the spate of the attacks on such communities in the affected areas. He said the towns are; Yarkofoji, Birnin Tudu, Rini, Gora Namaye, Janbako, Faru, Kaya, Boko and Mada towns.

The Commissioner of Information further stated that the Government also announced the closing down of markets in Danjibga and Bagega as well as Colony to Lambar Boko Road, Bakura to Lambar Damri Road and Mayanchi- Daki Takwas to Gummi Road.

Others are the Daki Takwas to Zuru Road, Kucheri- Bawaganga – Wanke Road, Magami to Dangulbi Road and Gusau to Magami Road.

He said the measures were taken to facilitate the efforts of security operatives in flushing out criminal elements in those areas.


Current track