Vice President Osinbajo heads committee on herdsmen-farmers violence

Written by on January 19, 2018

The National Economic Council, NEC, has set up a ten-member committee to address the widespread farmers-herders clashes across the country. The committee is headed by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and includes nine governors.

Briefing State House correspondents after the NEC meeting, the Kano State Governor, Abdullahi Ganduje, said the committee has as members governors of Zamfara, Kaduna, Adamawa, Benue, Taraba, Edo, Plateau, Ebonyi and Oyo states.

The Kano governor said the committee is expected to work in accordance with commensurate commitment to ensure that all perpetrators of violence are brought to book.

The Governor of Ebonyi State, David Umahi, who spoke earlier, said the NEC also considered an update on the need for domestic funding for the treatment of persons living with HIV in Nigeria.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Current track