Senate Leader loses seat, Saraki wins

Written by on March 31, 2015

Dr Bukola Saraki

Dr Bukola Saraki

The Senate Leader, Senator Abdul Ningi of the Peoples Democratic Party has lost his bid to return to the Senate, as Isah Misau of the All Progressives Congress was declared the winner of the Bauchi Central Senatorial District.

Declaring the results on Monday, the INEC Collation Officer for the Bauchi Central, Dr. Mohammed Yakubu, announced that Misau scored 208, 741 votes to beat Ningi, who scored 57, 172 votes.

The result, as declared in Azare, the headquarters of the district on Monday, by the INEC Collation Officer for the Bauchi North Senatorial election, Dr. Muhammed Adamu, said Nazif polled 197, 919 votes, to beat Mustapha, who scored 97, 047.

Also, the Bauchi State Governor, who is also the PDP candidate in the Bauchi South senatorial elections, Isa Yuguda, is trailing the All Progressives Congress candidate, Ali Wakili, from the results of four of the seven local governments announced so far.

Also, a former governor of Plateau State, Joshua Dariye, was re-elected to represent the Plateau Central senatorial zone.

A former Minister of Aviation, Stella Oduah, also secured victory to represent Anambra North Senatorial District. Oduah, who ran on the platform of the PDP, polled 143,478 to defeat the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Cheif Dubem Obaze of the All Progressives Congress, who polled 70,906 votes.

Also Governor Aliyu Wammakko of Sokoto State (APC); his Plateau State counterpart, Jonah Jang (PDP); Abia State Governor, Theodore Orji (PDP); and Governor Rabiu Kwankwaso of Kano State(APC), former Governor of Osun State, Isiaka Adeleke (APC) all secured victory to represent their respective zones.

However, Senator Ahmed Mohammed Makarfi of the PDP failed to return to the Senate as he lost to Malam Shehu Sani of the APC, who will now represent Northern Kaduna Senatorial District.

Senators Ayo Akinyelure representing Ondo Cenral Senatorial District suffered the same fate as he lost to Donald Alasoadura of the APC. But APC’s Senator Ajayi Boroffice secured re-election to represent Ondo North Senatorial District as he defeated Senator Bode Olajumoke of the PDP.

The candidate of the APC for Kwara Central senatorial district, Dr. Bukola Saraki, has been declared winner of the Saturday’s election.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Current track