INEC presents Certificates of Return to senators-elect

Written by on March 7, 2023

The Independent National Electoral Commission on Tuesday presented Certificates of Return to senators-elect.

The Chairman of INEC, Mahmood Yakubu, presented the certificates to the winners of the just concluded senatorial elections held on February 25 at the National Collation Centre.

In the list of senatorial seats for the 10th Assembly, the ruling All Progressives Congress has fifty-seven candidates, Peoples Democratic Party has twenty-nine candidates, Labour Party has six candidates, the Social Democratic Party, the New Nigeria Peoples Party has two candidates, while the Young Progressives Party and APGA has one candidate each.

Meanwhile, eight names are missing, as the commission noted that supplementary elections will be held in the affected senatorial districts. The affected districts include; Enugu East, Kebbi North, Plateau Central, Sokoto East, North and South, Yobe South and Zamfara Central

Senator Ireti Kingibe, who won the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Senate seat under Labour Party, expressed fulfillment of changing the leadership of the FCT and concern of the number of women in the senate.


Current track