Five women get Kwara Assembly seats

Written by on March 22, 2023

Five women have been elected into the Kwara State House of Assembly and will partake in the 10th legislative session of the Assembly which will be inaugurated in June this year.

The women who got elected during the last Saturday’s House of Assembly election include Rukayat Shittu, Owode/Onire constituency; Arinola Lawal, Ilorin East constituency; Medinat AbdulRaheem, Lanwa/ Ejidongari constituency; Aishat Babatunde-Alanamu, Ilorin North-West constituency; and Mariam Aladi, Ilorin South constituency.

The PUNCH reports that 24 elected Assembly members who served in the 9th legislative Assembly between 2019 and 2023 were all male.

Meanwhile, the All  Progressives Congress has won 23 out of the available 24 seats in the Kwara State House of Assembly while the Peoples Democratic Party secured one  seat.

The PDP House of Assembly member-elect is Afolabi Taiye (Odo-Ogun State Constituency).

Current track