Federal Government constitutes fourteen-man Committee to resolve lingering ASUU strike

Written by on September 6, 2022

The Federal Government has reportedly constituted a 14-man committee to look into the recommendations of the Emeritus Professor Nimi Briggs’ committee concerning the resolution of the lingering ASUU strike.

Recall that the Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu, earlier today met with Pro-Chancellors and Vice-Chancellors of Federal Universities at the National Universities Commission (NUC) Abuja.

Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu inaugurated the 14-man committee today which comprises some pro-chancellors, vice-chancellors and other stakeholders.

Reports say that the Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu, during the meeting told the university lecturers that the government could only afford twenty-three point five (23.5) percent salary increase for lecturers, while a thirty-five percent (35%) increment will be enjoyed by professors.

The Spokesperson for the Ministry of Education, Ben Goong, who briefed journalists after the meeting, noted that the committee is to also look into issues of increase in the salaries of the university lecturers and come up with workable solutions.


He added that members of the committee include Professor Olu Obafemi, Professor Nimi Briggs, Udo Udoma, Bashir Dalhatu, Professor Kayode Adebowale, Professor Kabir Bala, Professor Lilian Salami, Professor Charles Igwe, Registrar of the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board, Professor Ishaq Oloyede; Representatives of the Academy of letters, Science, Medicine and social sciences.

Current track