Court declares Osun Local government election illegal

Written by on November 25, 2022

The Federal High Court sitting in Osogbo, the state capital, has nullified the just concluded local government election conducted in Osun State.

Justice Ayo-Nathaniel Emmanuel of Federal High Court Osogbo today declared the local government election as illegal, null and void and added that the election was not conducted in consonance with the Electoral Act of 2022.

He also ordered the local government Chairmen and Councilors who were sworn in after the election to vacate Local Government Secretariats and offices with immediate effect.

Reacting to the court judgment, the Osun Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) stated that its activism against the illegality of the outgoing administration of Adegboyega Oyetola has been vindicated.

It could be recalled that the local government poll was conducted on Saturday, 15th October, 2022, by the Osun State Independent Electoral Commission (OSIEC) under the Chairmanship of Segun Oladitan.

The Osun Election Petitions Tribunal, sitting in Osogbo, has ordered the Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof. Mahmoud Yakubu, to produce Sen. Ademola Adeleke’s results used during the 2018 governorship election in Osun.

The Tribunal Chairman, Justice Tertsea Kume, gave the order in his ruling on the arguments and counterarguments by both the  All Progressive Congress (APC)   and the respondent’s counsel regarding the INEC Form CF001.

Kume said it would amount to denying the petitioners their right to fair hearing, after INEC had failed to comply with the subpoena order as regards what the petitioners were demanding for.

He said the Osun Resident Electoral Commissioner, Dr. Mutiu Agboke, represented by one Shehu Muhammed, failed to produce Form CF001 on the excuse that they do not have the document in their custody in the state.

Justice Kume then ordered the INEC Chairman to produce the document on the next date of adjournment which is the 1st of December, 2022.

Current track