2015 GLO CAF Awards: Aubameyang, Samatta rule Africa

Written by on January 8, 2016

GLO CAFGabon striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang has been crowned CAF African Player of the Year for the first time.

The twenty six -year old beat Ivorian Yaya Toure and Ghana’s Andre Ayew to the crown, the most prestigious individual award in African football. He polled one hundred and forty three points, seven more than Toure while  Ayew finished a distant third with one hundred and twelve points.

He thus becomes the first from his country, Gabon, to win the prize and was decorated at the 2015 Glo-CAF Awards Gala held on Thursday, 7 January 2016 at the International Conference Center, Abuja, Nigeria. The feat by Aubameyang ended the four-year reign of Toure, which lasted 2011 to 2014.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Current track